The 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - EU MIES AWARD kicks off!

News Infurma23/12/2016

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced yesterday the list of 356 works competing for the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award. The Jury members will shortlist 40 projects and select the 5 finalist works which they will visit in April.

Housing and buildings for Cultural programmes continue being the most representative works. They are followed by education buildings which have increased their presence significantly. The number of mixed used works connected to cultural and social programmes such as a Library with an Auditorium or a City Hall with a Civic Centre have also increased and form the fourth most important group of works

The links to the works per country are: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

The nominated works are stimulating, innovative and have improved the existing conditions of their sites. They push boundaries and have set new standards based on strong collaborative and participatory strategies.” Ivan Blasi, Coordinator of the Prize

“Nearly all works are constructed in an existing built environment and testify that a key challenge for contemporary architecture is the consciousness of its urban environment and a constant dialogue with cultural heritage.” Michel Magnier, Director for Culture and Creativity, DG Education and Culture of the EC


Initiated in 1987 after an agreement between the European Parliament and the Barcelona City Council, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award has been co-organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the European Commission since 2001.

The Prize is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to achieve a thorough understanding of the transformation of Europe's built environment; to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture (in conceptual and construction terms) and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas, the clients who support them and the citizens that enjoy them.

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was created in 1983 with the aim of reconstructing the German Pavilion that Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created for the 1929 International Exhibition. The foundation fosters debate on and awareness of themes related to contemporary architecture and urban planning, as well as encouraging studies on the work of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and on the Modern Movement.

Creative Europe is the European Commission's framework programme for support to the culture and audiovisual sectors. The cultural and creative sectors embody Europe's immensely rich and diverse cultural heritage, and contribute to the development of our societies. These sectors play a big role in the European economy and help generate growth and jobs.


86 independent experts, the national architecture associations from the 39 participating countries and the Advisory Committee nominated the 356 projects that will compete for the Prize and the Emerging Architect Prize. The Jury will make a shortlist of 40 works in late January 2017 and afterwards it will announce the 5 Finalists that will be visited in April.

The Granting Ceremony will take place on May 26 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona with the Winners, the Finalists, the Jury members, the clients of the works, authorities from the European Commission and Parliament and the Barcelona City Council and all those people who support an architecture that responds to the needs of our century


The Prize Winner receives 60.000€ and a sculpture that evokes the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. Professionals starting out on their careers have the opportunity to become an Emerging Architect Winner, and receive the sculpture together with 20.000€. The prestige of the Prize and the determination to disseminate the knowledge and savoir-faire of European architects is brought forward with the organization of exhibitions and debates worldwide, bringing architecture nearer to citizens.

Source: Fundación Mies Van der Rohe

Read more news related Mies van der Rohe published at Infurma

Visit the Mies van der Rohe Award website


Las Vegas Market - Regístrate

News Infurma:

Online Magazine of the International Habitat Portal. Design, Contract, Interior Design, Furniture, Lighting and Decoration